Laboratory Accreditation System Executive Committee Meeting Minutes Thursday, October 27, 2022 1:30 pm Eastern

1) Welcome and Roll Call

Maria opened the meeting. Attendance is recorded in Attachment A. The minutes of September 22 were approved unanimously after a motion by Mike, seconded by Shari.

David Caldwell informed TNI that he will not be continuing his involvement, now that he has retired from OK DEQ. The LASEC membership remains balanced but new members could be considered.

2) Review and Approval of SIR Subcommittee Recommendations

SIR 441

This radiochemistry SIR was recommended for forwarding to be posted to the NELAP AC voting site during the October 20 SIR Subcommittee meeting. Louise moved and Harold seconded that the recommendation be accepted. All eight members present voted in favor, and as of October 28, three additional members voted by email in favor of the motion. This constitutes a super-majority approval, and SIR 441 will be posted for AC vote.

Update on SIR 423

This SIR generated a lengthy email discussion after the vote approving its posting for AC voting. Lynn advised the LASEC members that the same discussions were taking place among the AC voters.

3) Update on Competency Task Force's Credentialing Efforts

Maria asked Harold if he would please update the committee on this activity, as the credentialing will become a component of the laboratory accreditation system, once implemented. Harold, Aaren and Patty are members of the Task Force.

Harold briefly explained the origins of the Competency Task Force, chartered by the Board to explore ways to promote competency of laboratory and accreditation body staff. He noted that the Task Force initiated and then handed off to Quality Management Systems Expert Committee a shift from Technical Manager to Technical Specialist, as the first of several roles to be explored.

The Task Force's current effort is to provide a credential for Quality Managers. The knowledge, skills and abilities (KSAs) needed to meet the requirement of the Standard (V1M2, primarily) have been identified, and available training courses identified (or new courses to be created) that will address those KSAs. The effort has been discussed at two conference sessions already and will be further discussed in San Antonio in January, with additional details being announced.

There will be two paths to achieving the Quality Manager credential. One will be for individuals meeting established education and experience criteria who will be offered a

comprehensive test, and upon passing, can receive a credential certificate. The second path is based upon attaining a series of 14 specialist badges, each of which will require several courses with tests that must be passed; once the entire set of badges are attained, the individual may apply for and receive the same credential certificate.

Some individuals may want just a few of the badges – Proficiency Testing Specialist, Method Validation Specialist, Data Integrity Specialist, etc. – for their particular functions, and the badges can be used individually, as well as collectively. A business plan for this credentialing activity is being developed and the Board has reviewed an initial draft, authorizing the Task Force to continue development.

4) New Business

There was no new business. Participants discussed how the winter holidays will alter the committee meeting schedule and then, Maria adjourned the meeting.

5) Next Meeting

Due to the Thanksgiving holiday, there will be no LASEC meeting in November. The next regular teleconference will be Thursday, December 15, 2022, at 1:30 pm Eastern. The agenda and any needed documents will be sent in advance of the meeting.

The next SIR Subcommittee teleconference will be on Thursday, November 17, 2022, at 1:30 pm Eastern, and then in December, the Subcommittee will meet at 12:30 pm Eastern, immediately prior to the LASEC meeting.

Attachment A TNI LABORATORY ACCREDITATION SYSTEMS EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ROSTER

	NAME	EMAIL	Term End Date	INTEREST	AFFILIATION	S/H CATEGORY	PRESENT
1	Maria Friedman, Chair	<u>qamfriedman@gmail.com</u>	1/23 (first term)	SIRs	CA ELAP	AB	Yes
2	Harold Longbaugh, Vice Chair	harold.longbaugh@ houstontx.gov	1/25 (3nd term)	SIRs	Houston Lab	Lab	Yes
3	Aaren Alger	Aaren.s.alger@gmail.com	1/23 (first term)	SIRs, Assessment Forum	Alger Consulting & Training	Other	Yes
4	Patty Carvajal	pmcarvajal@sara-tx.org	1/25 (first term)		San Antonio River Authority	Lab	Yes
5	Sumy Cherukara	Cherukara.sumy@epa.gov	1/23 (second term)		EPA R2	Other	No
6	Stacie Crandall	scrandall@hrsd.com	1/24 (first term)	SIRs	Hampton Roads Sanitation Distr.	Lab	No
7	Mike Delaney	mike@mikedelaney.org	1/23 (first term)		Retired (MWRA)	Other	Yes
8	Jack Farrell	aex@ix.netcom.com	1/25 (second term)	Mentor Session	Analytical Excellence	Other	No
9	Silky Labie	elcatllc@centurylink.net	1/25 (second term)	SIRs	ELCAT	Other	No
10	Bill Hall	George.W.Hall@des.nh.gov	1/25 (second term)	SIRs	NH ELAP	NELAP AB	No
11	Louise McGinley	louise.mcginley@tceq.texas.gov	1/25 (second term)	SIRs	TCEQ	NELAP AB	Yes
12	Shari Pfalmer	Shari.pfalmer@pacelabs.com	1/25 (first term)		Pace Analytical	Lab/FSMO	Yes
13	Michele Potter	michele.potter@dep.nj.gov	1/24 (second term)		NJ DEP	NELAP AB	Yes

Associate Members

Debbie Bond	DBOND@southernco.com	SIR	Rs	Alabama Power	Lab	Yes
Myron Gunsalus	ngunsalus@kdheks.gov			KS Lab Director	NELAP AB	No
Margaret Hurst	mhurst@acz.com			ACZ Laboratories	Lab	No
Carl Kircher	carl.kircher@doh.state.fl.us			FL DOH	NELAP AB	No
Dorothy Love	dorothylove@ET.eurofinsus.com		ntor ssion	Eurofins Environmental	Lab	No
Mitzi Miller	mitzi.miller@moellerinc.com		tor Session ssmt Forum	Dade Moeller	Other	No
Judy Morgan	Judy.Morgan@pacelabs.com	Asse Foru	essment um	Pace Analytical	Lab/FSMO	No
William Ray	Bill Ray@williamrayllc.com			Wm Ray Consultants	Other	No

	Mohan	msabaratnam@iasonline.org		IAS	AB	No
	Sabaratnam				(non-gov.)	
	Nick Straccione	nstraccione@emsl.com	Mentor Session	EMSL	Lab	No
	Katie Strothman	katie@sanderslabs.net		Sanders Labs	Lab	No
Program Admin.		Lynn.bradley@nelac-institute.org				Yes
Lynn Bradley						