# Summary of the Laboratory Accreditation Body Expert Committee Meeting Tuesday, January 16, 2024 1:00 pm Eastern

#### 1. Welcome and Roll Call

Aaren welcomed everyone to the meeting. Attendance is noted in Attachment 1 and the agenda as distributed is in Attachment 2. The agenda was approved by unanimous consent. The minutes of December 19, 2023, were approved unanimously after a motion by Yumi, seconded by Mike.

#### 2. Nominations and Possible Voting for Chair Position

There were no nominations for Chair. Mike stated that he would be able to consider the position in September but not before then. The matter will be taken up again at the February meeting and as Vice Chair, Yumi will lead meetings until the Chair position is again occupied.

At the end of the meeting, Aaren stated that she really does not want to resign as Chair, and so, if Yumi is willing to step in for a month or two, she withdraws her resignation and will return to the Chair position when her workload allows. Mike offered to assist Yumi in the meanwhile, and restated that he will be available in September if a new Chair is still needed.

#### 3. Resume Voting on Persuasiveness of Comments

Review of comments and decisions about their persuasiveness consumed the remainder of the meeting. Outcomes are shown in the table below.

Com- ment #	Row #	Section	Per sua- sive/ Non	Motion and Vote	Discussion	Assignment to Revise, if persuasive
62	60	7.7.5.1.10	Р	Yumi/Bill unanimous		
61	61	7.7.5.1.5 or 7.7.5.1.6	Р	Yumi/Mike unanimous	Discussed at November 2023 meeting but not voted at that time	
7	69	8.1.3	Р	Mike/Bill unanimous		
66	73	9.7.5	Р	Mike/Michella unanimous	Intent of comment should be moved to §9.6.1	
12	77	9.7.2.1	Р	Mike/Michella unanimous	"once per year" is grammatically correct	
53 & 72	70 & 72	9.7.2 & 9.7.3.1	Р	Yumi/Mike Unanimous	Strike language as recommended (re-vote on #72, same outcome; previously voted 12/19/23)	
54	71	9.7.1	NP	Mike/Bill unanimous	Believe commenter misunderstood the language	
19	25	6.1	NP	Mike/Sviatlana unanimous	Commenter misunderstands –	

48&27	32&33	6.1.3.7	NP	Mike/Yumi unanimous	Standard does not require approved courses (see Note 2) Initial motion that #48 be NP was amended to include #27	Requirement to record competence is already in 6.3
65	42	7.11.1.4	NP	Bill/Mike	Rewrite 7.11.1.35 for clarity to distinguish lab and AB responsibilities	
52	66	7.9.3	Р	Michella/Mike unanimous	Need to specify max time between in- person site visits, as these are considered mandatory, not optional. Some flexibility is ok (and emergency declarations such as pandemic)	

## 4. Next Meeting

The LAB committee is not meeting at conference in Columbus. The next planned teleconference meeting is tentatively scheduled for <u>Tuesday, February 20, 2024, at 1:00 pm Eastern.</u>

Aaren asks that committee members unable to attend please notify her and Lynn prior to the meeting date. An agenda and documents will be distributed prior to the meeting.

# Attachment 1 LAB Expert Committee Roster

Name/Email	Term ends	Affiliation	Present?
Aaren Alger, Chair	1/30/2026	Other – Alger Consulting & Training	Yes
Aaren.s.alger@gmail.com	(2nd term)		
Socorro Baldonado	1/30/2026	Lab – Metropolitan Water District, La	Yes
sbaldonado@mwdh2o.com	(2nd term)	Verne, CA	
Nilda Cox	1/30/2025	Lab – Eurofins Eaton Analytical LLC	No
nilda.cox@et.eurofinsus.com	(2nd term)		
Yumi Creason, Vice Chair	1/30/2025	AB – Pennsylvania	Yes
ycreason@pa.gov	(1st term)		
Bill Hall	1/30/2026	AB – NH DES	Yes
george.w.hall@des.nh.gov	(1st term)		
Sviatlana Haubner	1/30/2025	LAB – Cincinnati Metropolitan Sewer	Yes
Sviatlana.Haubner@cincinnati-oh.gov	(1st term)	District	
Michella Karapondo	1/30/2025	Other – EPA OGWDW TSC/Cincinnati	Yes
Karapondo.michella@epa.gov	(1st term)		
Michael Perry	1/30/2026	Lab – Southern Nevada Water Authority	Yes
michael.perry@lvvwd.com	(2nd term)	•	
Zaneta Popovska	1/30/2025	AB – ANAB	No
zpopovska@anab.org	(2nd term)		
Program Administrator:	N/A		Yes
Lynn Bradley	1		
Lynn.Bradley@nelac-institute.org			
Associate Members:			<u> </u>
Paul Bergeron		AB – LDEQ	No
Paul.bergeron@la.gov			
Scott Haas		Lab – Environmental Testing, Inc., and	No
shaas@etilab.com		Chair, FAC	
Taryn Hurley taryn.hurley@deq.ok.gov		AB – OK DEQ	No
Paul Junio		LAB – Pace Labs, Inc.	No
paul.junio@pacelabs.com		EAD Tage Labs, inc.	140
Carl Kircher, Chair		AB – Florida Department of Health	No
carl_kircher@flhealth.gov			
LeeAnn Kline		M J Reider Associates	Yes
Ikline@mjreider.com		AD 01/ DE0	
Ryan Lerch Ryan.lerch@deq.ok.gov		AB – OK DEQ	Yes
Marlene Moore		Other – Advanced Systems, Inc.,	No
mmoore@advancedsys.com		Newark, DE	140
Mei Beth Shepherd, Vice Chair		Other – Shepherd Technical Services	No
mbshep@sheptechserv.com		·	
Nicholas Slawson		AB – A2LA	No
	1		
nslawson@a2la.org		OIL THE ALLEY	N
Ilona Taunton		Other – TNI Program Administrator	No
		Other – TNI Program Administrator  AB – VA DCLS	No Yes

## Attachment 2 – LAB Expert Committee Meeting Agenda, January 16, 2024

- Welcome and Roll Call
- Approval of Agenda
- Approval of Minutes (December minutes attached) Nominations and Possible Voting for Chair Position
- Resume Voting on Persuasiveness of Comments (see Aaren's email plus response-to-comments file and Draft Standard Rev. 1 markup by Aaren, all attached)
- New Business, if any
- Adjourn